Skip to main content

HESA Student Record 2007/08 - Credit transfer scheme

Back to C07051

HESA Student Record 2007/08

Fields required from institutions in Northern Ireland

Credit transfer scheme

return to field list
Short nameCRDTSCM

This field denotes the credit point transfer scheme that Module.CRDTPTS, and Module.LEVPTS, apply to.

Applicable toEngland Northern Ireland Scotland Wales

All modules

Base data typeCRDTSCMCodeType
Field length1
Part of
Minimum occurrences1
Maximum occurrences1
Reason required

To identify and monitor the use of credit transfer schemes and to monitor the actual flow of credits.


Credit accumulation and transfer schemes allow students to collect credit for work already completed, if they decide to terminate their study before achieving a complete award. If and when they resume their studies, not necessarily at the previous institution, they may be able to carry forward the credits from their previous study.

HESA may seek extra information about schemes coded 7 or 8.

Modules which do not have a credit transfer scheme should be coded 9.

Institutions in Wales cannot use code 9 No scheme.

For institutions in Scotland this field must be coded 2 Scotland (SCOTCAT). The only exception to this rule is students for whom Course.COURSEAIM begins D or L, who can be coded 9 in this field.

Change management notesAdditional code A added for use in reporting FE students by institutions in Wales
Business rules

Module.CRDTSCM cannot be coded 9 for institutions in Wales


Module.CRDTSCM cannot be coded 2 for institutions in England, Wales or Northern Ireland

Schema components
Element: CRDTSCM
Valid entries and labels
1England & Northern Ireland (CATS)
2Scotland (SCOTCAT)
3CQFW credit framework
6LSDA credit framework
7Other scheme
8Own scheme
9No scheme
AGNVQ units/OCN credits

Contact Liaison by email or on +44 (0)1242 388 531.