Skip to main content

HESA Student record 2012/13

Back to C12051

Commonly used acronyms

Version 1.5 Produced 2013-06-25

ACU Association of Commonwealth Universities
AGCAS Association of Graduate Careers Advisory Services
AHRC Arts and Humanities Research Council
AHUA Association of Heads of University Administrations
AIRS Accelerated and Intensive Routes in Higher Education
ALC Administrative Library and Computing
AoC Association of Colleges
ASCII American Standard Code for Information Interchange
AUA Association of University Administrators
AUDE Association of University Directors of Estates
BBSRC Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council
BIS Department for Business, Innovation and Skills
BTEC Business and Technician Education Council
BUFDG British Universities Finance Directors Group
CASCOT Computer Assisted Coding Tool
CAT Credit Accumulation Transfer
CNAA Council for National Academic Awards
CSYS Certificate of Sixth Year Studies
CVE Continuing Vocational Education
CVU Council of Validating Universities
DARDNI Department of Agriculture and Rural Development Northern Ireland
DELNI Department for Employment and Learning for Northern Ireland
DENI Department of Education for Northern Ireland
DfE Department for Education
DfES Department for Education and Skills (in 2007 DfES was split into the DIUS and DCSF)
DIUS Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills (in 2009 DIUS was merged into the new Department of Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS)).
DCSF Department for Children, Schools and Families (in 2010 DCSF became the Department of Education (DfE)).
DH Department of Health
EC European Community (or European Commission depending on context)
EDI Electronic Data Interchange
EFA Education Funding Agency
EGAS Education Grants Advisory Service
EPSRC Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council
ERASMUS European Community Action Scheme for the Mobility of Univ. Students
ERDF European Regional Development Fund
ESF European Social Fund
ESRC Economic and Social Research Council
FE Further Education
FEC Further Education College(s)
FEDA Further Education Development Agency
FES Further Education Statistics
FTE Full Time Equivalent(s)
GCE General Certificate of Education
GCSE General Certificate of Secondary Education
GEST Grants for Education Support and Training
GNVQ General National Vocational Qualification
GPHC General Pharmaceutical Council
GRIST Grant Related In-Service Training
GSCC General Social Care Council (replaced by the HCPC on August 1st 2012)
GSVQ General Scottish Vocational Qualification
GTCE General Teaching Council for England (replaced by the TA on April 1st 2012. The TA was then replaced by the NCTL on April 1st 2013)
GTTR Graduate Teacher Training Registry
HCPC Health and Care Professions Council
HE Higher Education
HECSU Higher Education Careers Service Unit
HEFCE Higher Education Funding Council for England
HEFCW Higher Education Funding Council for Wales
HEI Higher Education Institution(s)
HEPPI Higher Education Pay and Price Index
HERO Higher Education and Research Opportunities in the UK
HESA Higher Education Statistics Agency
HESACODE HESA Classification Of Disciplines in Education (in 2002, HESACODE was superseded by JACS).
HESES Higher Education Students Early Statistics Survey
HITECC Higher Education Introductory Technology & Engineering Conversion Courses
HNC Higher National Certificate
HND Higher National Diploma
HPC Health Professions Council (renamed HCPC on August 1st 2012)
HSCIC Health and Social Care Information Centre
ILR Individual Learner Record
INSET In-Service Education of Teachers
ISO International Standards Organisation
ITT Initial Teacher Training
JACS Joint Academic Coding System
JANET Joint Academic Network
JISC Joint Information Services Committee
JYA Junior Year Abroad
LEA Local Education Authority
LEONARDO European Commission action programme in the sphere of vocational training
LINGUA Scheme to improve students language skills
LLN Lifelong Learning Network
LSC The Learning and Skills Council (in 2010 LSC became the Young People's Learning Agency (EFA) and the Skills Funding Agency (SFA)).
LSDA Learning and Skills and Development Agency
MRC Medical Research Council
NAW National Assembly for Wales
NCTL National College for Teaching and Leadership
NCIHE National Committee of Inquiry into Higher Education
NERC Natural Environmental Research Council
NHS National Health Service
NI Northern Ireland
NS-SEC National Statistics Socio-Economic Classification
NVQ National Vocational Qualification
OECD Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
ONC Ordinary National Certificate
OND Ordinary National Diploma
ONS Office for National Statistics
ORSAS Overseas Research Students Awards Scheme
PCT Primary Care Trust
PFI Private Finance Initiative
PGCE Postgraduate Certificate in Education
PI Performance Indicator(s)
PICKUP Professional Industrial & Commercial up-dating Programme
PPARC Particle Physics & Astronomy Research Council - now, with the Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils (CCLRC), part of the Science and Technology Facilities Council
QAA Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education
QCA Qualifications and Curriculum Authority
QSL Qualified School Leaver
QTS Qualified Teacher Status
RAE Research Assessment Exercise (last conducted in 2008, and subsequently replaced by the REF).
RCUK Research Councils UK
REF Research Excellence Framework
RPSGB Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain (replaced by the GPhC on September 27th 2010)
SAAS Student Awards Agency for Scotland
SCE Scottish Certificate of Education
SCOP Standing Conference of Principals (now known as GuildHE)
SCOTCAT Scottish Credit Accumulation & Transfer Scheme
SEB Scottish Examination Board
SEERAD Scottish Executive (Scottish Government) Environment & Rural Affairs Department
SEETLLD Scottish Executive (Scottish Government) Enterprise, Transport and Lifelong Learning Department
SFA Skills Funding Agency
SFC Scottish Further and Higher Education Funding Council
SHA Strategic Health Authority
SIC Standard Industrial Classification
SLDD Students with Learning Difficulties or Disabilities
SOC1990 Standard Occupational Classification 1990
SOC2000 Standard Occupational Classification 2000
SOC2010 Standard Occupational Classification 2010
SOCRATES European Commission action programme in the sphere of school and higher education in the European Community.
SQA Scottish Qualifications Authority
SRHE Society for Research into Higher Education
SROC Student Record Officers' Conference
SSR Student Staff Ratio
STFC Science and Technology Facilities Council
SVQ Scottish Vocational Qualification
SWAP Scottish Wider Access Programme
TDA Training and Development Agency for Schools (replaced by the TA on April 1st 2012. The TA was then replaced by the NCTL on April 1st 2013)
TA Teaching Agency (replaced by the NCTL on April 1st 2013)
TEMPUS Trans-European Mobility Programme for University Studies
UACE Universities Association for Continuing Education
UAP University Authorities Panel
UCAS Universities & Colleges Admissions Service
UCEA The Universities and Colleges Employers Association
UFI University for Industry
UK NARIC The National Academic Recognition Information Centre for the United Kingdom
UK United Kingdom
USR Universities Statistical Record
USS Universities Superannuation Scheme
VCE Vocational Certificate in Education
WBL Work Based Learning
WG-DCELLS Welsh Government's Department for Children, Education, Lifelong Learning and Skills
WG-DfES Welsh Government's Department for Education and Skills
WDC Workforce Development Confederation
YPLA Young People's Learning Agency (replaced by the EFA on April 1st 2012)
border="1" cellspacing="5">

Contact Liaison by email or on +44 (0)1242 388 531.