Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Higher Education Statistics 2005/06

General notes

Throughout the tables, PG represents postgraduate students and programmes, and UG represents undergraduate students and programmes, as defined in the Definitions section of this volume.

HE is used to mean higher education, and FE is used to mean further education.

DIUS1 refers to the Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills.

UCAS refers to the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service.

Notes to tables

  1. Analyses of subject information show Full Person Equivalents (FPE). These are derived by splitting student records between the different subjects that make up their qualification aim. Totals of FPE may differ slightly to counts of students due to rounding.
  2. European Union (EU) are those countries which were EU members as at 1 December 2005, this includes: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Irish Republic, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. Included within this are the 2004 EU accession countries who joined the EU on 1 May 2004: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovak Republic, Slovenia. 2007 EU accession countries include those joining the EU on 1 January 2007: Bulgaria, Romania.Other EEA (European Economic Area) countries includes: Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein.
  3. Full-time equivalent (FTE) figures are calculated using a different population to that used for numbers of enrolments. Please see Section A of Definitions for further details.
  4. Includes UK domicile region unknown.
  5. Includes non-UK domicile region unknown.
  6. 'Other' modes of study are not separately tabulated but are included in totals.
  7. Initial or pre-service teacher training course leading to qualified teacher status or to registration as a school teacher with the General Teaching Council for Scotland.
  8. Includes GNVQ/GSVQ level 3 or NVQ/SVQ level 3 qualification.
  9. Explicit refusals are not included in total of known destination.
  10. Unknown ages are not separately tabulated but are included in totals.
  11. Students of unknown location of employment are included in total figures, but not in separate breakdowns.
  12. Standard Occupational Classification is now based upon SOC(DLHE).
  13. Includes the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man and UK domicile region unknown.
  14. Includes the Student Awards Agency for Scotland and the Department for Employment and Learning Northern Ireland.
  15. Figures relating to part-time overseas domiciled students may include students studying largely overseas by distance learning who also visit the United Kingdom for part of their programme of study.
  16. Includes academic staff gender unknown.
  17. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2005/06 has changed.
    • Merthyr Tydfil College of Further Education merged with the University of Glamorgan
    • Homerton College merged with Anglia Ruskin University
    • Leeds College of Music joined the higher education sector
    • Kent Institute of Art and Design merged with The Surrey Institute of Art and Design University College to become The University College for the Creative Arts at Canterbury, Epsom, Farnham, Maidstone, Rochester.
  18. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2005/06:
    • Edge Hill College of Higher Education changed to Edge Hill University
    • University of Luton changed to University of Bedfordshire
    • York St John College changed to York St John University.
  19. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Institute of Education
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine (until July 2007)
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • University College London
    • (Heythrop College is also a college of University of London, but is not included in HESA statistics, as it is not publicly-funded).

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  1. The Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills (DIUS) was formed on 28 June 2007. This new Department brings together functions from the former Department of Trade and Industry, including responsibilities for science and innovation, with further and higher education and skills, previously part of the Department for Education and Skills.

Copyright © Higher Education Statistics Agency Limited 2007