Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Higher Education Statistics 2006/07

General notes

Throughout the tables, PG represents postgraduate students and programmes, and UG represents undergraduate students and programmes, as defined in the Definitions section of this volume.

HE is used to mean higher education, and FE is used to mean further education.

DIUS1 refers to the Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills.

UCAS refers to the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service.

Notes to tables

  1. Analyses of subject information show Full Person Equivalents (FPE). These are derived by splitting student records between the different subjects that make up their qualification aim. Totals of FPE may differ slightly to counts of students due to rounding.
  2. European Union (EU) are those countries which were EU members as at 1 December 2006, this includes: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Irish Republic, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. 2007 EU accession countries include those joining the EU on 1 January 2007: Bulgaria, Romania.
  3. Full-time equivalent (FTE) figures are calculated using a different population to that used for numbers of enrolments. Please see Section A of Definitions for further details.
  4. Includes UK domicile region unknown.
  5. Includes non-UK domicile region unknown.
  6. 'Other' modes of study are not separately tabulated but are included in totals.
  7. Initial or pre-service teacher training course leading to qualified teacher status or to registration as a school teacher with the General Teaching Council for Scotland.
  8. Includes GNVQ/GSVQ level 3 or NVQ/SVQ level 3 qualification.
  9. Explicit refusals are not included in total of known destination.
  10. Unknown ages are not separately tabulated but are included in totals.
  11. In previous editions of this volume students of unknown location of employment were only shown within totals. From this edition they are separately tabulated.
  12. Standard Occupational Classification is now based upon SOC(DLHE).
  13. Includes the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man and UK domicile region unknown.
  14. Includes the Student Awards Agency for Scotland and the Department for Employment and Learning Northern Ireland.
  15. Figures relating to part-time overseas domiciled students may include students studying largely overseas by distance learning who also visit the United Kingdom for part of their programme of study.
  16. Staff whose gender is not known have been included in totals but are not shown separately.
  17. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2006/07 has changed:
    • De Montfort University’s Bedford campus merged with University of Bedfordshire
    • Guildhall School of Music and Drama joined the higher education sector
    • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine has withdrawn from University of London and is an independent University in its own right
    • The Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts, previously part of Liverpool John Moores University, joined the higher education sector as an independent Higher Education Institution in its own right
    • Wimbledon School of Art has merged with University of the Arts London.
  18. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2006/07:
    • Bishop Grosseteste College changed to Bishop Grosseteste University College Lincoln
    • University of Central England in Birmingham changed to Birmingham City University
    • Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College changed to Buckinghamshire New University
    • College of St Mark and St John changed to University College Plymouth St Mark and St John
    • St Mary's College changed to St Mary's University College, Twickenham
    • Queen Margaret University College, Edinburgh changed to Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh
    • Trinity and All Saints College changed to Leeds Trinity and All Saints
    • University of Wales, Swansea changed to Swansea University
    • University of Wales, Aberystwyth changed to Aberystwyth University
    • University of Wales, Bangor changed to Bangor University.
  19. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Institute of Education
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Heythrop College (publicly funded, and included in HESA publications for the first time, from 2006/07)
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • University College London.

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  20. The University of Aberdeen misreported 1,285 honours degrees as ordinary degrees, showing in the tables as unclassified awards. Therefore the numbers of unclassified awards are artificially inflated for Scotland institutions in Table 8.
  21. The Queen's University of Belfast reported a number (955) of unknown domiciles, mostly on short credit bearing courses within their Open Learning Programme, who should have been reported as Northern Ireland domicile. Consequently the number of UK domiciled HE enrolments in Table 1 for this institution is under-reported by this amount.
  22. Due to the particular nature of the structure of the UHI Millennium Institute, teaching and research activities are carried out by constituent partners and these staff have been returned as atypical. Non-academic staff at these partner organisations have not been returned.
  1. The Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills (DIUS) was formed on 28 June 2007. This new Department brings together functions from the former Department of Trade and Industry, including responsibilities for science and innovation, with further and higher education and skills, previously part of the Department for Education and Skills.

Copyright © Higher Education Statistics Agency Limited 2008