Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Higher Education Statistics 2007/08

  1. Analyses of subject information show Full Person Equivalents (FPE). These are derived by splitting student records between the different subjects that make up their qualification aim. Totals of FPE may differ slightly to counts of students due to rounding.
  2. Other European Union (EU) are those countries which were EU members as at 1 December 2007, this includes: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Irish Republic, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Bulgaria and Romania. 2007 EU accession countries include those joining the EU on 1 January 2007: Bulgaria, Romania.
  3. Total UK domicile includes UK domicile region unknown.
  4. Total non-UK domicile includes non-UK domicile region unknown.
  5. Students of indeterminate gender are included in total figures but not in separate gender breakdowns.
  6. Initial Teacher Training (ITT) PGCE qualifications obtained includes both Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE at level M) and Professional Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE at level H).
  7. Percentage of known destination excludes those who replied to the survey but explicitly refused to give information, and is expressed as a percentage of all students from whom a destination of leavers record was expected.
  8. Students of unknown age are included in total figures and percentage calculations but not in separate age breakdowns.
  9. Total UK domicile includes Guernsey, Jersey, the Isle of Man and UK domicile region unknown.
  10. UK LEA mandatory/discretionary awards includes the Student Awards Agency for Scotland and the Department for Employment and Learning (Northern Ireland).
  11. Figures relating to part-time overseas domiciled students may include students studying largely overseas by distance learning who also visit the United Kingdom for part of their programme of study.
  12. Total gender includes academic staff of unknown gender.
  13. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2007/08 has changed.
    • Cumbria Institute of the Arts and the Carlisle campus and Penrith campus of The University of Central Lancashire merged with St Martin's College. St Martin's College changed its name to University of Cumbria
    • The Royal College of Nursing transferred provision of its HE distance learning programmes to The Open University
    • University Campus Suffolk is a joint venture between The University of East Anglia and The University of Essex. It completed a separate HESA student return for the first time in 2007/08. It has been accounted for in the HESA finance return by The University of East Anglia and The University of Essex
    • Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama merged with University of Glamorgan
    • Bell College merged with The University of Paisley. The University of Paisley changed its name to The University of the West of Scotland
  14. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2007/08:
    • Birmingham College of Food, Tourism and Creative Studies changed to University College Birmingham
    • The University College for the Creative Arts at Canterbury, Epsom, Farnham, Maidstone, Rochester changed to University for the Creative Arts
    • St Martin’s College changed to University of Cumbria
    • Newman College of Higher Education changed to Newman University College
    • Norwich School of Art and Design changed to Norwich University College of the Arts
    • The North-East Wales Institute of Higher Education changed to Glyndwr University
    • Swansea Institute of Higher Education changed to Swansea Metropolitan University
    • The University of Paisley changed to The University of the West of Scotland.
  15. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Heythrop College
    • Institute of Education
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • University College London.

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  16. In 2007/08 a small number of HEIs submitted first degree data without a classification. These figures are included in totals but not in separate breakdowns.
  17. From 2007/08 'All modes' is the total of full-time, sandwich and part-time modes of study only. Prior to 2007/08 'All modes' included other modes of study that were not separately tabulated (i.e. writing-up and sabbatical).
  18. A number of HEIs with significant levels of FE provision, agreed with the Funding Councils and the Learning and Skills Council (LSC) to no longer make dual returns to both LSC and HESA. From 2007/08 these HEIs are only making a return for this provision to LSC. Therefore FE enrolment numbers for these HEIs are not shown within this table.

© Higher Education Statistics Agency Limited 2009