Skip to main content

Data Futures: Programme Management

Data Futures Programme Board

  • The role of the Data Futures Programme Board is to provide leadership of the Programme, and to support the Senior Responsible Owner and Programme Director.
  • Board members are listed below:


Professor Mark E. Smith

Vice Chancellor, University of Lancaster, Chair of Data Futures Programme Board



Chris Cobb

Pro Vice-Chancellor and Chief Operating Officer, University of London, AHUA nominee

Peter Benton

Director of Data Collection, Office for National Statistics, ONS nominee

David Howell

Commercial Director, Institute of Contemporary Music Performance, Independent Higher Education Nominee (Alternative Providers)

Trevor Cooper

Director of Higher Education, Department for the Economy NI



Patrick Hackett

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Liverpool, UUK nominee

Mario Ferelli

Director (Analytical Services), HEFCE, HEFCE nominee


Peter O'Rourke

Director of IT, University of Campus Suffolk, UCISA nominee

Dr Phil Richards

Chief Innovation Officer, Jisc, Jisc nominee

Martin Smith

Chief Funding and Information Officer, Scottish Funding Council, SFC nominee

Professor Aletta Norval

Pro-Vice-Chancellor Education, University of Essex, UUK nominee

Bethan Owen

Director of Institutional Engagement, HEFCW, HEFCW nominee



Andy Bennett

Government Digital Service


Alison Jones

University Secretary, Bradford University, nominated member for HESPA

Paul Clark, CEO, HESA

Senior Responsible Owner

Rob Phillpotts, Data Futures Programme Director, HESA


Data Futures is working with Civica on the delivery of the Data Futures data collection system; read our press release on the appointment of Civica for more information.

Get Involved

  • The Data Futures programme will present multiples opportunities to get involved, provide feedback and ask questions.
  • You can join our JISCMail group for the latest updates and milestones.
  • If you want to get in contact with someone from our Data Futures team, please email.