Skip to main content

UCAS deadline for HECoS coding 8 May

The first deadline for the Higher Education Classification of Subjects (HECoS) – the new subject coding system developed to replace the JACS system – is approaching. All courses in the UCAS system offered for autumn 2019 entry need to be submitted to UCAS using the new framework by 8 May.

The implementation of HECoS provides an opportunity for a far broader range of stakeholders to use a common subject coding system to classify subjects of study. HECoS will be implemented for the academic year starting in the autumn of 2019.

HECoS codes are mandatory for 2019 undergraduate and postgraduate courses, including those with variable start dates. HE providers need to have completed adding HECoS codes to their 2019 entry courses by Tuesday 8 May, to enable them to be published in the UCAS search tool when it goes live. If their 2019 courses have not been assigned HECoS codes they will not be able to publish them.

The Common Aggregation Hierarchy document has been updated to version 1.1. We have also produced an implementation guide to establish the key principles of HECoS allocation.

For more information on HECoS codes please visit:

The Higher Education Classification of Subjects (HECoS)





Press Officer