Skip to main content

Income of higher education institutions by region

The new electronic publication, Finances of Higher Education Institutions 2009/10is published today by HESA. This new publication replaces the finance component of the former 'Resources of HE Institutions' printed product which addressed both financial and staff data.

Income and expenditure by institution is published in Table 1 of the new publication.

Finances of Higher Education Institutions 2009/10 shows that the total income of UK HEIs in 2009/10 was £26.8 billion. The map below shows the income of HEIs by region:

Income of UK Higher Education Institutions by Region

Finances of Higher Education Institutions 2009/10 contains 12 tables of income and expenditure data at institution, region and national level. Finances of Higher Education Institutions 2009/10 is available to purchase and instantly download from here

A full schedule of all HESA releases for 2011 can be found here.

Notes for editors

  1. Press enquiries should be directed to:
  2. HESA finance data is collected from all publicly funded Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) in the UK, plus the University of Buckingham, which is a non-publicly-funded institution. The following table shows the number of HEIs located in each UK region and the total income of those HEIs:
    Region Total income of HEIs (£000s) Number of HEIs
    London 5,532,785 40*
    South East 3,110,587 17
    North West 2,574,652 14
    East of England 2,288,193 9
    Yorkshire and The Humber 2,071,208 11
    West Midlands 1,869,197 12
    East Midlands 1,646,048 9
    South West 1,580,731 12
    North East 1,111,697 5
    The Open University 450,101 1
    Total England (inc OU) 22,235,199 130
    Wales 1,235,690 12
    Scotland 2,803,938 19
    Northern Ireland 520,960 4
    Total UK 26,795,787 165
    * Includes the 19 separate colleges of the University of London plus grouped ‘institutes and activities’. See Note 7
  3. Total income includes income from joint ventures.
  4. HESA cannot accept responsibility for any inferences or conclusions derived from the data by third parties.
  5. Financial data relates to the institutions' financial year, i.e. 1 August 2009 to 31 July 2010.
  6. The Open University teaches throughout the UK and is therefore shown separately in this release.
  7. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Heythrop College
    • Institute of Education
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • University College London.
    • In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:
      • University of London Institute in Paris
      • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
      • School of Advanced Study comprises:
        • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
        • Institute of Classical Studies
        • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
        • Institute of English Studies
        • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
        • Institute of Historical Research
        • Institute of Musical Research
        • Institute of Philosophy
        • Institute for the Study of the Americas
        • Warburg Institute.


Press Release

Press Officer