Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Destinations of Leavers 2006/07

  1. Students of unknown ages are included in total figures and percentage calculations but not in separate age breakdowns.
  2. Percentage of known destination excludes those who replied to the survey but explicitly refused to give information and is expressed as a percentage of all students from whom a destination of leavers record was expected. Deceased students have been excluded from numerator and denominator of the percentage of known destination calculations for the first time in 2006/07.
  3. Students of unknown location of employment are included in total figures, but not in separate breakdowns.
  4. Lower second class degree includes ‘undivided’ second class honours.
  5. Analyses of subject information show Full Person Equivalents (FPE). These are derived by splitting student records between the different subjects that make up their qualification aim. Totals of FPE may differ slightly to counts of students due to rounding.
  6. Employment overseas includes self-employed and all categories of employment.
  7. Students of unknown duration of employment are included in total figures.
  8. Total UK domiciled, postgraduate, first degree and other undergraduate include students who are known to be UK domiciled but whose exact region of domicile is unknown.
  9. Total UK includes UK domiciled students who are known to be employed in the UK but whose exact UK region of employment is unknown.
  10. Response rate includes those that replied to the survey but explicitly refused to give information and is expressed as a percentage of all students from whom a destination of leavers record was expected.
  11. European Union (EU) are those countries which were EU members as at 1 December 2006, this includes: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Irish Republic, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. 2007 EU accession countries include those joining the EU on 1 January 2007: Bulgaria, Romania. Other EEA (European Economic Area) countries includes: Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein.
  12. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2006/07 has changed.
    • De Montfort University’s Bedford campus merged with University of Bedfordshire
    • Guildhall School of Music and Drama joined the higher education sector
    • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine has withdrawn from University of London and is an independent University in its own right
    • The Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts, previously part of Liverpool John Moores University, joined the higher education sector as an independent Higher Education Institution in its own right
    • Wimbledon School of Art has merged with University of the Arts London.
  13. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2006/07:
    • Bishop Grosseteste College changed to Bishop Grosseteste University College Lincoln
    • University of Central England in Birmingham changed to Birmingham City University
    • Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College changed to Buckinghamshire New University
    • College of St Mark and St John changed to University College Plymouth St Mark and St John
    • St Mary's College changed to St Mary's University College, Twickenham
    • Queen Margaret University College, Edinburgh changed to Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh
    • Trinity and All Saints College changed to Leeds Trinity and All Saints
    • University of Wales, Swansea changed to Swansea University
    • University of Wales, Aberystwyth changed to Aberystwyth University
    • University of Wales, Bangor changed to Bangor University.
  14. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Institute of Education
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Heythrop College (publicly funded, and included in HESA publications for the first time, from 2006/07)
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • University College London.

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  15. The University of Aberdeen misreported 1,285 honours degrees as ordinary degrees, showing in the tables as unclassified awards. Therefore the numbers of unclassified awards are artificially inflated.
  16. The low response rates for London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine is due to a large number students leaving for posts overseas which the institution believed had been invited to complete the online survey, but this was not the case.
  17. The reduced response rates for The University of Cambridge for leavers who obtained postgraduate qualifications through part-time study is largely due to the qualification aim being incorrectly coded for 1,185 INSET students, which resulted in an inflated DLHE target population.