Skip to main content

Definitions - Destinations of Leavers Longitudinal survey 2010/11

Definitions for the Destinations of Longitudinal survey 2010/11 can be found here.

HE provider mission group

Due to the sample size of the DLHE Longitudinal data it is not possible to provide data shown by HE provider because response numbers are often too small to be analysed at this level. Instead HE provider mission groups are used in some tables. These groups are often formed on the basis of common interests, particularly towards research and education provision. The groups used within this report are as per July 2011 and are detailed below. Any mergers which have occurred since July 2011 have not been applied. The 1994 Group was disbanded in November 2013 and is no longer in existence. It should be noted that Buckinghamshire New University is a member of both GuildHE and Million+ and has been included in both groups in any tabulations. These figures include an element of double counting and therefore group totals will not sum to the overall sector total. Any HE providers not listed below are included in the All Other HEPs group in tables. Comparisons between mission groups should be interpreted with care due to differences in student populations and the overall teaching and research purposes of HE providers in each group.

Russell Group

  • The Queen's University of Belfast
  • The University of Birmingham
  • The University of Bristol
  • The University of Cambridge
  • Cardiff University
  • The University of Edinburgh*
  • The University of Glasgow
  • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine
  • King's College London
  • The University of Leeds
  • The University of Liverpool
  • London School of Economics and Political Science
  • The University of Manchester
  • The University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • The University of Nottingham
  • The University of Oxford
  • The University of Sheffield
  • The University of Southampton
  • University College London*
  • The University of Warwick.

1994 Group

  • The University of Bath
  • Birkbeck College
  • University of Durham
  • The University of East Anglia
  • The University of Essex
  • The University of Exeter
  • Goldsmiths College
  • Institute of Education
  • The University of Lancaster
  • The University of Leicester
  • Loughborough University
  • Queen Mary University of London
  • The University of Reading
  • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
  • The University of St Andrews
  • The School of Oriental and African Studies
  • The University of Surrey
  • The University of Sussex
  • The University of York.


  • University College Birmingham
  • Bishop Grosseteste University
  • The Arts University Bournemouth
  • Buckinghamshire New University
  • University for the Creative Art
  • University of Cumbria
  • Falmouth University
  • Harper Adams University
  • Leeds Trinity University
  • The Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts
  • Newman University
  • Norwich University of the Arts
  • Ravensbourne
  • Rose Bruford College
  • Royal Agricultural University
  • St Mary's University College, Belfast
  • St Mary's University, Twickenham
  • University of St Mark and St John
  • The University of Winchester
  • The University of Worcester
  • Writtle College
  • York St John University.


  • University of Abertay Dundee
  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • Bath Spa University
  • University of Bedfordshire
  • Birmingham City University
  • The University of Bolton
  • Buckinghamshire New University
  • The University of Central Lancashire
  • Coventry University
  • University of Derby
  • The University of East London
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • University of Gloucestershire
  • The University of Greenwich
  • Kingston University
  • Leeds Beckett University
  • London Metropolitan University
  • London South Bank University
  • Middlesex University
  • The University of Northampton
  • Roehampton University
  • Southampton Solent University
  • Staffordshire University
  • The University of Sunderland
  • The University of the West of Scotland
  • The University of West London
  • The University of Wolverhampton.

University Alliance

  • Aberystwyth University
  • Bournemouth University
  • The University of Bradford
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • De Montfort University
  • Glasgow Caledonian University
  • University of Hertfordshire
  • The University of Huddersfield
  • The University of Lincoln
  • Liverpool John Moores University
  • The Manchester Metropolitan University
  • The University of Wales, Newport*
  • The University of Northumbria at Newcastle
  • The Nottingham Trent University
  • The Open University
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • The University of Plymouth
  • The University of Portsmouth
  • The University of Salford
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • Teesside University
  • The University of South Wales*
  • University of the West of England, Bristol.

HE provider tariff group

Higher Education providers were grouped according to their subject mix and average tariff scores of their undergraduate students. Specialist HEPs were defined as HEPs with 60% or more of its provision in one or two subjects (based on academic cost centres). The Open University was also grouped as Specialist HEP. The remaining HEPs were grouping into HEPs with high average tariff scores, HEPs with medium average tariff scores and HEPs with low average tariff scores.  This was based on the average tariff scores of undergraduate entrants aged 21 and under in the 2010/11 HESA student record.


The following HE provider mergers occurred between July 2011 and the survey reference date, 24 November 2014:

  • 0167 The University of Edinburgh merged with 0096 Edinburgh College of Art, retaining the name 0167 The Uiversity of Edinburgh
  • 0091 Swansea Metropolitan University merged with 0176 University of Wales Trinity Saint David, retaining the name 0176 University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • 0147 The School of Pharmacy merged with 0149 University College London, retaining the name 0149 University College London
  • 0086 The University of Wales, Newport merged with 0090 University of Glamorgan to become 0090 University of South Wales.

For the purpose of grouping HE providers into mission groups and tariff groups, no mergers have been applied to the data.