Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Resources 2005/06

  1. From 2004/05 cost centres 15 General science and 22 Other technologies were no longer valid in the Finance Record. From 2005/06 they were no longer valid for the Student and Staff data collections.
  2. Staff whose ethnicity is not known includes those who have been coded ‘information refused’.
  3. Total academic staff includes staff whose nationality has been coded ‘not known’.
  4. Staff whose gender is not known have been included in totals but are not shown separately.
  5. Average age was calculated on actual age (as opposed to age groups) for staff with known age.
  6. Where comparisons are made between the latest financial year 2005/06 and the previous year 2004/05, the previous year's figures are those reported in the re-stated financial statements.
  7. The funding council grants for HE provision include Scottish Further and Higher Education Funding Council (SFC) grants for all provision.
  8. The funding council grants for FE provision are not applicable to SFC.
  9. The financial data supplied by the Royal College of Nursing (RCN) is extracted from the RCN audited accounts based on an April to March accounting year. This information is consistent with note 18 in the accounts which specifically refers to the results of RCN. Income and expenditure relating to the RCN is fairly consistent month on month, therefore inconsistencies with data relating to the August to July reporting period should be minimal.
  10. The University of Buckingham publishes audited accounts to 31 December each year. Consequently, the income and expenditure in these finance data are prepared from management accounts spanning two financial years, which can be reconciled to the published accounts for 2005 and 2006.
  11. The Royal College of Music 2005/06 FSR submission to HESA has been completed on the new basis adopted for the College's 2005/06 consolidated accounts in that the figures now include the Prince Consort Foundation (PCF). The comparatives for 2004/05 are similarly amended to include the PCF.
  12. Due to the particular nature of the structure of the UHI Millennium Institute, teaching and research activities are carried out by constituent partners and these staff have been returned as atypical. Non-academic staff at these partner organisations have not been returned.
  13. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2005/06 has changed.
    • Merthyr Tydfil College of Further Education merged with the University of Glamorgan
    • Homerton College merged with Anglia Ruskin University
    • Leeds College of Music joined the higher education sector
    • Kent Institute of Art and Design merged with The Surrey Institute of Art and Design University College to become The University College for the Creative Arts at Canterbury, Epsom, Farnham, Maidstone, Rochester.
  14. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2005/06:
    • Edge Hill College of Higher Education changed to Edge Hill University
    • University of Luton changed to University of Bedfordshire
    • York St John College changed to York St John University.
  15. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are: In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Institute of Education
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • University College London
    • (Heythrop College is also a college of University of London, but is not included in HESA statistics, as it is not publicly funded).
    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.