Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Students 2006/07

  1. Analyses of subject information show Full Person Equivalents (FPE). These are derived by splitting student records between the different subjects that make up their qualification aim. Totals of FPE may differ slightly to counts of students due to rounding.
  2. Students of unknown age or length of programme are included in total figures but not in separate breakdowns.
  3. Students of unknown UK domicile are included in total UK figures, but not in separate breakdowns.
  4. Figures include only those students whose length of programme is known.
  5. Students of non-UK domicile, but whose country is unknown are included in total figures but not in separate breakdowns.
  6. Students whose ethnicity is not known include those who have been coded ‘information refused’.
  7. An unseen disability means, for example, diabetes, epilepsy or asthma.
  8. Figures include only those students whose age is known.
  9. 2007 EU accession countries include those joining the EU on 1 January 2007: Bulgaria, Romania.
  10. The University of Cambridge does not classify its B.A. degree, but awards classes in the Tripos (honours) examination usually taken at the end of each academic year. The class of degree recorded in the HESA record in and after 2003/04 is the result obtained in the student's final year.
  11. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2006/07 has changed.
    • De Montfort University’s Bedford campus merged with University of Bedfordshire
    • Guildhall School of Music and Drama joined the higher education sector
    • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine has withdrawn from University of London and is an independent University in its own right
    • The Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts, previously part of Liverpool John Moores University, joined the higher education sector as an independent Higher Education Institution in its own right
    • Wimbledon School of Art has merged with University of the Arts London.
  12. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2006/07:
    • Bishop Grosseteste College changed to Bishop Grosseteste University College Lincoln
    • University of Central England in Birmingham changed to Birmingham City University
    • Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College changed to Buckinghamshire New University
    • College of St Mark and St John changed to University College Plymouth St Mark and St John
    • St Mary's College changed to St Mary's University College, Twickenham
    • Queen Margaret University College, Edinburgh changed to Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh
    • Trinity and All Saints College changed to Leeds Trinity and All Saints
    • University of Wales, Swansea changed to Swansea University
    • University of Wales, Aberystwyth changed to Aberystwyth University
    • University of Wales, Bangor changed to Bangor University.
  13. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Institute of Education
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Heythrop College (publicly funded, and included in HESA publications for the first time, from 2006/07)
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • University College London.

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  14. The Queen's University of Belfast reported a number (955) of unknown domiciles, mostly on short credit bearing courses within their Open Learning Programme. Consequently the number of Northern Irish students in Northern Ireland institutions may be under-reported by this amount.
  15. The University of Aberdeen misreported 1,285 honours degrees as ordinary degrees, showing in the tables as unclassified awards. Therefore the numbers of unclassified awards are artificially inflated.