Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Finances 2009/10

  1. In tables where comparisons are made between HESA FSR figures for the latest financial year 2009/10 and the previous financial year(s), the figures for the previous financial year(s) are those reported in the re-stated financial statements.
  2. The following institution has changed its name in the HESA products for 2009/10:
    • Ravensbourne College of Design and Communication changed to Ravensbourne.
  3. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Heythrop College
    • Institute of Education
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • University College London.

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  4. The University of Buckingham publishes audited accounts to 31 December each year. Consequently, the income and expenditure in these finance data are prepared from management accounts spanning two financial years, which can be reconciled to the published accounts for 2009 and 2010.
  5. The FSR submissions for The University of East Anglia and The University of Essex include figures for income, net return, net assets and deferred capital grants for the University Campus Suffolk, which is a 50:50 joint venture between these two universities.
  6. The 2009/10 HESA FSR submission is based on the following institutions' draft consolidated financial statements: Stranmillis University College and Edinburgh College of Art.
  7. In 2009/10 The University of Bolton misreported in FSR Table 7 £568K of expenditure in 3a Central administration and services. This should have been reported in 2 Total academic services. The correct figures are as follows: 2 Total academic services: staff costs academic £126K, staff costs other £1,365K, other operating expenses £925K, depreciation £0, Total £2,416K. 3a Central administrations and services: staff costs academic £1,013K, staff costs other £4,040K, other operating expenses £1,945K, depreciation £0, Total £6,998K.