Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Students 2004/05

  1. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2004/05 has changed.
    • Trinity College of Music has merged with Laban to become Trinity Laban
    • The Victoria Manchester University and UMIST have merged to form The University of Manchester
    • University of Wales College of Medicine has merged with Cardiff University
  2. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2004/05:
    • Anglia Polytechnic University changed to Anglia Ruskin University
    • Bath Spa University College changed to Bath Spa University
    • Bolton Institute of HE changed to The University of Bolton
    • Canterbury Christ Church College changed to Canterbury Christ Church University
    • University College Chester changed to University of Chester
    • University College Chichester changed to University of Chichester
    • Falmouth School of Art and Design changed to University College Falmouth
    • Liverpool Hope University College changed to Liverpool Hope University
    • University College Northampton changed to The University of Northampton
    • Southampton Institute changed to Southampton Solent University
    • University College Winchester changed to The University of Winchester
    • University College Worcester changed to University of Worcester
  3. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Institute of Education
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine
    • King's College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George's Hospital Medical School
    • University College London
    • (Heythrop College is also a college of University of London, but is not included in HESA statistics, as it is not publicly-funded.)

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  4. In September 2004, the ownership of Carlisle campus of The University of Northumbria at Newcastle was transferred to The University of Central Lancashire.
  5. The Open University has under-reported first year postgraduate students by approx. 3400 in 2004/05. The total number of Open University postgraduate students is correct as stated in the tables.
  6. Analyses of subject information show Full Person Equivalents (FPE). These are derived by splitting student records between the different subjects that make up their qualification aim. Totals of FPE may differ slightly to counts of students due to rounding.
  7. Students of unknown age or length of programme are included in total figures but not in separate breakdowns.
  8. Students of unknown UK domicile are included in total UK figures, but not in separate breakdowns.
  9. Figures include only those students whose length of programme is known.
  10. Students of non-UK domicile, but whose country is unknown are included in total figures but not separate breakdowns.
  11. Students whose ethnicity is not known include those who have been coded 'information refused'.
  12. An unseen disability means, for example, diabetes, epilepsy or asthma.
  13. Figures include only those students whose age is known.
  14. This year the heading DipHE includes students studying for Diploma in HE leading towards obtaining eligibility to register to practice with a Health or Social Care regulatory body. In 2003/04 and 2002/03 these students were grouped under Other undergraduates. On this basis total DipHE in 2002/03 was 83,300; in 2003/04 was 80,710; in 2004/05 is 78,625.
  15. The University of Cambridge does not classify its B.A. degree, but awards classes in the Tripos (honours) examination usually taken at the end of each academic year. Up to and including 2002/03 the class of degree recorded on the HESA record was the best class obtained and not necessarily that obtained in the final year. For 2003/04 and thereafter, the class obtained in the final year is being reported. The results reported under this new method are now more closely comparable to those reported by other institutions.