Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Students 2010/11

  1. Analyses of subject information show Full Person Equivalents (FPE). These are derived by splitting student instances between the different subjects that make up their course aim.
  2. Students of indeterminate gender are included in total figures but not in separate breakdowns.
  3. Students whose ethnicity is not known include those who have been coded 'information refused'.
  4. Students with no known disability include those who have been coded 'no known disability','information refused', 'information not sought', or 'not known'.
  5. Figures include only those students whose age is known. ('Unknown age' includes age returned as zero and age unknown).
  6. First degree data submitted without a classification is included in total first degree figures but not in separate breakdowns.
  7. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2010/11 has changed:
    • The University of Wales Lampeter merged with Trinity University College and subsequently changed its name to University of Wales Trinity Saint David.
  8. The following institutions have changed their name in the HESA products for 2010/11:
    • The Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama changed to Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
    • The University of Teesside changed to Teesside University
    • Thames Valley University changed to The University of West London
    • UHI Millennium Institute changed to University of the Highlands and Islands
    • University of Wales Institute, Cardiff changed to Cardiff Metropolitan University
    • The University of Wales Lampeter merged with Trinity University College and subsequently changed its name to University of Wales Trinity Saint David.
  9. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Heythrop College
    • Institute of Education
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • University College London.

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  10. A number of HEIs with significant levels of FE provision agreed with the Funding Councils and the former Learning and Skills Council (LSC) to no longer make dual returns to both LSC and HESA. In 2007/08 and 2008/09 these HEIs only made a return for this provision to LSC. From 2009/10 these HEIs only make a return for this provision to the Data Service of the Skills Funding Agency and the Young Person's Learning Agency.
  11. FE students, in the same way as HE students, are counted as an instance of engagement with the institution. As a student can have more than one instance of engagement, the total FE figure will exceed the number of students. Due to the nature of FE programmes, it is likely that the average number of instances per FE student is slightly higher than the average number of instances per HE student.
  12. The University of Cambridge does not classify its bachelor of arts degree, but awards classes in the Tripos (honours) examination usually taken at the end of each academic year. The class of degree recorded in the HESA record in and after 2003/04 is the result obtained in the student's final year.
  13. The University of St Andrews mis-reported 240.0 FTEs relating to postgraduate research writing-up students. These students were each returned with an FTE of 1.0 instead of 0.1. The correct figure for FTE of postgraduate students at St Andrews is 1932.4 instead of 2147.5.
  14. Students registered at Oxford Brookes University accounted for 47.6% of the total population of the 2010/11 Aggregate Offshore record. The majority of these students were registered with an overseas partner on Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) programmes.

© Higher Education Statistics Agency Limited 2012