Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Students 2002/03

  1. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2002/03 has changed:
    • London Guildhall University and The University of North London have merged to form London Metropolitan University.
  2. The following institution has joined the HE sector:
    • Birmingham College of Food, Tourism and Creative Studies.
  3. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2002/03:
    • The University of Kent at Canterbury changed to The University of Kent
    • Liverpool Hope changed to Liverpool Hope University College
    • Institute of Advanced Nursing changed to The Royal College of Nursing.
  4. Courtauld Institute of Art is now shown separately. It was previously included in the figures for the University of London (Institutes and activities) but is still an associated institute of the university.
  5. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Institute of Education
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • University College London
    • (Heythrop College is also a college of University of London, but is not included in HESA statistics, as it is not publicly-funded).

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • British Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Latin American Studies
      • Institute of Romance Studies
      • Institute of United States Studies
      • Warburg Institute.
  6. Homerton College only returns data for students from the School of Health Studies. All other students are now included in the figures for The University of Cambridge.
  7. The University of Cambridge does not classify its B.A. degree, but awards classes in the Tripos (honours) examination usually taken at the end of each academic year. Therefore the class of degree recorded on the HESA record is the best class obtained and not necessarily that obtained in the final year. As a result of this the numbers of first class and upper second class degrees are slightly inflated.
  8. Analyses of subject information show Full Person Equivalents (FPE). These are derived by splitting student records between the different subjects that make up their qualification aim. Totals of FPE may differ slightly to counts of students due to rounding.
  9. Students of unknown age or length of programme are included in total figures and percentage calculations but not in separate breakdowns.
  10. Students of unknown UK domicile are included in total UK figures, but not in separate breakdowns.
  11. Students of non-UK domicile, but whose country is unknown are included in total figures but not separate breakdowns.
  12. Students whose ethnicity is not known include those who have been coded ‘information refused’.
  13. An unseen disability means, for example, diabetes, epilepsy or asthma.
  14. London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine under reported qualifications obtained for full-time postgraduate students.
  15. Figures only include those students whose age is known.