Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Staff 2010/11

  1. Total academic staff includes staff whose nationality has been coded 'not known'.
  2. Staff of indeterminate gender, plus those whose gender is not known, are included in total figures but not in separate breakdowns.
  3. Total staff includes staff whose ethnicity has been coded 'not known' or 'information refused'.
  4. Total staff includes staff whose disability status has been coded 'no known disability' or 'question not answered'.
  5. Average age is calculated on actual age, as opposed to age groups. This is calculated only for staff with known age.
  6. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2010/11 has changed:
    • The University of Wales Lampeter merged with Trinity University College and subsequently changed its name to University of Wales Trinity Saint David.
  7. The following institutions have changed their name in the HESA products for 2010/11:
    • The Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama changed to Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
    • The University of Teesside changed to Teesside University
    • Thames Valley University changed to The University of West London
    • UHI Millennium Institute changed to University of the Highlands and Islands
    • University of Wales Institute, Cardiff changed to Cardiff Metropolitan University
    • The University of Wales Lampeter merged with Trinity University College and subsequently changed its name to University of Wales Trinity Saint David.
  8. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Heythrop College
    • Institute of Education
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • University College London.

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  9. Due to the particular nature of the structure of the University of the Highlands and Islands, teaching and research activities are carried out by constituent partners and these staff have been returned as atypical. Non-academic staff at these partner organisations have not been returned.
  10. In 2010/11, The University of Essex transferred 185 non-academic staff (equating to 109 FTE) into University of Essex Commercial Service Ltd. As a result, these staff no longer appear in the HESA return.

© Higher Education Statistics Agency Limited 2012