Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Students 2008/09

  1. Analyses of subject information show Full Person Equivalents (FPE). These are derived by splitting student records between the different subjects that make up their qualification aim.
  2. Students of indeterminate gender are included in total figures but not in separate breakdowns.
  3. 2007 EU accession countries include those joining the EU on 1 January 2007: Bulgaria, Romania.
  4. Figures include only those students whose length of programme is known.
  5. Students whose ethnicity is not known include those who have been coded 'information refused'.
  6. An unseen disability means, for example, diabetes, epilepsy or asthma.
  7. Figures include only those students whose age is known.
  8. The University of Cambridge does not classify its bachelor of arts degree, but awards classes in the Tripos (honours) examination usually taken at the end of each academic year. The class of degree recorded in the HESA record in and after 2003/04 is the result obtained in the student's final year.
  9. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2008/09 has changed.
    • Dartington College of Arts merged with University College Falmouth in 2007/08 but continued to make separate returns for that collection year. A single return has been made in 2008/09.
  10. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2008/09:
    • Trinity College, Carmarthen changed to Trinity University College
    • Napier University changed to Edinburgh Napier University
    • The Arts Institute at Bournemouth changed to The Arts University College at Bournemouth
    • Trinity Laban changed to Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance
    • Leeds Trinity and All Saints changed to Leeds Trinity University College.
  11. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Heythrop College
    • Institute of Education
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • University College London.

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  12. In 2008/09 a small number of HEIs submitted first degree data without a classification. These figures are included in totals but not in separate breakdowns.
  13. The Institute of Continuing Education at The University of Cambridge records enrolments by module, but its student record system is currently unable to capture separately the overall JACS programme of study for the unique course entity requirement. Consequently, for 2008/09, all 3,815 part-time other undergraduate students have been recorded as combined subject of study.
  14. A number of HEIs with significant levels of FE provision agreed with the Funding Councils and the Learning and Skills Council (LSC) to no longer make dual returns to both LSC and HESA. From 2007/08 these HEIs are only making a return for this provision to LSC.
  15. FE students, in the same way as HE students, are counted as an instance of engagement with the institution. As a student can have more than one instance of engagement, the total FE figure will exceed the number of students. Due to the nature of FE programmes, it is likely that the average number of instances per FE student is slightly higher than the average number of instances per HE student.
  16. In 2008/09 The Queen's University of Belfast misreported 280 part-time UK domicile students as non-European Union domicile.
  17. In 2008/09 the London School of Economics and Political Science misreported 305 full-time other undergraduate visiting students as non-exchange students. As a result these students appear in the institution's other undergraduate figures, where they would normally have been excluded from the HESA session and standard registration populations.
  18. Oxford Brookes University returned data for students registered with an overseas partner for the first time in 2008/09. This provision comprises substantial numbers of students on Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) programmes, and although not previously reported, is not new provision.
  19. In 2008/09 the London School of Economics and Political Science over-reported around 300 postgraduate research students as having an FTE of 1.0. These should have been reported with an FTE of between 0.1 and 0.2.