Skip to main content

Notes on tables - Resources 2002/03

The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2002/03 has changed.

  1. London Guildhall University and The University of North London have merged to form London Metropolitan University.
  2. The following institution has joined the HE sector:
    • Birmingham College of Food, Tourism and Creative Studies.
  3. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2002/03:
    • The University of Kent at Canterbury changed to The University of Kent
    • Liverpool Hope changed to Liverpool Hope University College
    • Institute of Advanced Nursing changed to The Royal College of Nursing.
  4. Courtauld Institute of Art is now shown separately. It was previously included in the figures for the University of London (Institutes and activities) but is still an associated institute of the university.
  5. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Institute of Education
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • University College London
    • (Heythrop College is also a college of University of London, but is not included in HESA statistics, as it is not publicly funded).

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • British Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Latin American Studies
      • Institute of Romance Studies
      • Institute of United States Studies
      • Warburg Institute.
  6. Where comparisons are made between the latest financial year 2002/03 and the previous year 2001/02, the previous year’s figures are those reported in the re-stated financial statements.
  7. The surplus/deficit is on continuing operations after depreciation of fixed assets at valuation and before exceptional items, tax and minority interest.
  8. The funding council grants for HE provision include SHEFC grants for all provision.
  9. The funding council grants for FE provision are not applicable to SHEFC.
  10. As a consequence of a review of cost centres by funding councils, additional cost centres were introduced in 1997/98. Use of the new cost centres was compulsory for institutions in England and Northern Ireland in 1998/99. In addition, cost centre 15 (General sciences) and cost centre 22 (Other technologies) were not used by institutions in England and Northern Ireland from 1998/99.
  11. As a result of departmental restructuring in 2002/03, following the merger of London Guildhall University and the University of North London to form London Metropolitan University, the allocation of data between HESA Cost Centres cannot be relied upon as accurate.
  12. For the 1999/2000 year HESA issued extra guidance to institutions in relation to the grade field which resulted in some institutions changing their reporting practice. Although it appears that there has been no significant effect on reporting practices care should be taken when undertaking time series analysis by grade.
  13. Average age was calculated on actual age (as opposed to age groups) for staff with known age.
  14. Staff whose ethnicity is not known includes those who have been coded ‘information refused’.
  15. Non-UK nationality includes staff whose nationality has been coded ‘not known’.
  16. Due to the particular nature of the structure of the UHI Millennium Institute, teaching and research activities are carried out by its constituent partners, and these staff are therefore not returned by the institution.