Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Resources 2006/07

  1. From 2004/05 cost centres 15 General science and 22 Other technologies were no longer valid in the Finance Record. From 2005/06 they were no longer valid for the Student and Staff data collections.
  2. Staff whose ethnicity is not known includes those who have been coded ‘information refused’.
  3. Total academic staff includes staff whose nationality has been coded ‘not known’.
  4. Staff whose gender is not known have been included in totals but are not shown separately.
  5. Average age was calculated on actual age (as opposed to age groups) for staff with known age.
  6. Where comparisons are made between the latest financial year 2006/07 and the previous year 2005/06, the previous year's figures are those reported in the re-stated financial statements.
  7. The funding council grants for HE provision include Scottish Further and Higher Education Funding Council (SFC) grants for all provision.
  8. The funding council grants for FE provision are not applicable to SFC.
  9. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2006/07 has changed:
    • De Montfort University’s Bedford campus merged with University of Bedfordshire
    • Guildhall School of Music and Drama joined the higher education sector
    • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine has withdrawn from University of London and is an independent University in its own right
    • The Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts, previously part of Liverpool John Moores University, joined the higher education sector as an independent Higher Education Institution in its own right
    • Wimbledon School of Art has merged with University of the Arts London.
  10. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2006/07:
    • Bishop Grosseteste College changed to Bishop Grosseteste University College Lincoln
    • University of Central England in Birmingham changed to Birmingham City University
    • Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College changed to Buckinghamshire New University
    • College of St Mark and St John changed to University College Plymouth St Mark and St John
    • St Mary's College changed to St Mary's University College, Twickenham
    • Queen Margaret University College, Edinburgh changed to Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh
    • Trinity and All Saints College changed to Leeds Trinity and All Saints
    • University of Wales, Swansea changed to Swansea University
    • University of Wales, Aberystwyth changed to Aberystwyth University
    • University of Wales, Bangor changed to Bangor University.
  11. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Institute of Education
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Heythrop College (publicly funded, and included in HESA publications for the first time, from 2006/07)
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • University College London.

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  12. Due to the particular nature of the structure of the UHI Millennium Institute, teaching and research activities are carried out by constituent partners and these staff have been returned as atypical. Non-academic staff at these partner organisations have not been returned.
  13. From 2005/06 the FSR submission to HESA from the Royal College of Music has been completed on the basis adopted for the College's 2005/06 consolidated accounts in that the figures include the Prince Consort Foundation (PCF). The 2006/07 FSR submission to HESA from the Royal College of Music has been completed on the new basis adopted for the College's 2006/07 consolidated accounts in that the figures now include the College's share of the results of the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music (ABRSM), in which it holds a 25% interest.
  14. The financial data supplied by the Royal College of Nursing (RCN) is extracted from the RCN audited accounts based on an April to March accounting year. This information is consistent with note 20 in the accounts which specifically refers to the results of RCN Institute. Income and expenditure relating to the RCN Institute is fairly consistent month on month, therefore inconsistencies with data relating to the August to July reporting period should be minimal.
  15. The University of Buckingham publishes audited accounts to 31 December each year. Consequently, the income and expenditure in these finance data are prepared from management accounts spanning two financial years, which can be reconciled to the published accounts for 2006 and 2007.
  16. A number of students at the University of Bedfordshire were re-assigned from cost centre 33 to 30 in the 2006/07 Student Record, but the consequential changes were not made in the 2006/07 Staff Record.
  17. The 2006/07 HESA Finance Return for Royal Northern College of Music is based on the institution’s draft consolidated financial statements.
  18. The 2006/07 HESA Finance Return for Cumbria Institute of the Arts is based on the institution’s draft consolidated financial statements.
  19. The 2006/07 HESA Finance Return for London Metropolitan University is based on the institution’s draft consolidated financial statements.