Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Staff 2012/13

  1. Total academic staff includes staff whose nationality has been coded 'not known'.

  2. Total staff includes staff whose ethnicity has been coded 'not known' or 'information refused'.

  3. Staff of unknown disability includes staff coded as 'information refused'.

  4. Average age or percentage of age is calculated only for staff with known age.

  5. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2012/13 has changed:

    • The School of Pharmacy merged with University College London in January 2012. Both institutions continued to make separate returns for the 2011/12 HESA reporting period. For 2012/13 a single return was made by University College London
    • Swansea Metropolitan University merged with the University of Wales Trinity Saint David
    • The University of Wales Newport merged with the University of Glamorgan in April 2013, forming the University of South Wales. Both institutions continued to make separate returns for the 2012/13 HESA reporting period.
  6. The following institutions have changed their name in the HESA products for 2012/13:

    • The Arts University College at Bournemouth changed to The Arts University Bournemouth
    • Bishop Grosseteste University College Lincoln changed to Bishop Grosseteste University
    • Harper Adams University College changed to Harper Adams University
    • Leeds Trinity University College changed to Leeds Trinity University
    • Newman University College changed to Newman University
    • Norwich University College of the Arts changed to Norwich University of the Arts
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College changed to Queen Mary University of London
    • Royal Agricultural College changed to Royal Agricultural University
    • University College Falmouth changed to Falmouth University
    • University College Plymouth St Mark and St John changed to University of St Mark and St John.

    In addition to changing their name, the following institutions have also changed UKPRN for 2012/13:

    • Harper Adams University changed to 10040812
    • University of St Mark and St John changed to 10037449.
  7. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA publications, are:

    • Birkbeck College
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Heythrop College
    • Institute of Education
    • King's College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • Queen Mary University of London
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St George's Hospital Medical School
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • University College London.

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Latin American Studies
      • Institute of Modern Languages Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • The Warburg Institute.
  8. Due to the particular nature of the structure of the University of the Highlands and Islands, the majority of teaching and research activities are carried out by constituent partners. These staff are not returned in the Staff record.

  9. Prior to 2012/13, 'Professor' was a term associated with those returned in the HESA Staff record as holding a contract for a professorial role. From 2012/13, this term is reserved for those who align with the Universities and Colleges Employers Association (UCEA) contract level of 'Professor', and as such the data is not directly comparable across years. Staff on contracts with multiple roles may have been classified at a different level, for example UCEA level 4A.

  10. Due to the merger between the University of Wales Trinity Saint David and Swansea Metropolitan University, 595 (264.7 FTE) staff have been omitted from the University of Wales Trinity Saint David staff submission for 2012/13 (all previously Swansea Metropolitan University staff). The breakdown of these staff is as follows: 370 Academic staff (120.2 FTE), 225 Non-academic staff (144.5 FTE).

For further data intelligence, please see the following web page:

This page is regularly updated as and when new issues are identified and explained.

© Higher Education Statistics Agency Limited 2014