Skip to main content

Notes to tables - Higher Education Statistics 2004/05

General notes

Throughout the tables, PG represents postgraduate students and programmes, and UG represents undergraduate students and programmes, as defined in the Definitions section of this volume.

HE is used to mean higher education, and FE is used to mean further education.

DfES refers to the Department for Education and Skills.

UCAS refers to the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service.

Notes to tables

  1. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2004/05 has changed:
    • Trinity College of Music has merged with Laban to become Trinity Laban
    • The Victoria Manchester University and UMIST have merged to form The University of Manchester
    • University of Wales College of Medicine has merged with Cardiff University
    • Thames Valley University and Reading College & School of Art and Design merged in 2003/04, and Reading data are included in HESA returns from 2004/05 onwards.
  2. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2004/05:
    • Anglia Polytechnic University changed to Anglia Ruskin University
    • Bath Spa University College changed to Bath Spa University
    • Bolton Institute of HE changed to The University of Bolton
    • Canterbury Christ Church College changed to Canterbury Christ Church University
    • University College Chester changed to University of Chester
    • University College Chichester changed to University of Chichester
    • Falmouth School of Art and Design changed to University College Falmouth
    • Liverpool Hope University College changed to Liverpool Hope University
    • University College Northampton changed to The University of Northampton
    • Southampton Institute changed to Southampton Solent University
    • University College Winchester changed to The University of Winchester
    • University College Worcester changed to University of Worcester.
  3. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
    • Birkbeck College
    • Central School of Speech and Drama
    • Courtauld Institute of Art
    • Institute of Education
    • Goldsmiths College
    • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine
    • The Institute of Cancer Research
    • King’s College London
    • London Business School
    • London School of Economics and Political Science
    • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    • The School of Oriental and African Studies
    • The School of Pharmacy
    • Queen Mary and Westfield College
    • Royal Academy of Music
    • Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    • The Royal Veterinary College
    • St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    • University College London
    • (Heythrop College is also a college of University of London, but is not included in HESA statistics, as it is not publicly funded).

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    • University of London Institute in Paris
    • University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    • School of Advanced Study comprises:
      • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
      • Institute of Classical Studies
      • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
      • Institute of English Studies
      • Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
      • Institute of Historical Research
      • Institute of Musical Research
      • Institute of Philosophy
      • Institute for the Study of the Americas
      • Warburg Institute.
  4. In September 2004, the ownership of Carlisle campus of The University of Northumbria at Newcastle was transferred to The University of Central Lancashire.
  5. Analyses of subject information show Full Person Equivalents (FPE). These are derived by splitting student records between the different subjects that make up their qualification aim. Totals of FPE may differ slightly to counts of students due to rounding.
  6. European Union (EU) are those countries which were EU members as at 1 December 2002, this includes: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden. EU Accession countries include those who joined the EU on 1 May 2004: Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovak Republic, Slovenia. Other EEA (European Economic Area) countries includes: Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein.
  7. Full-time equivalent (FTE) figures are calculated using a different population to that used for numbers of enrolments. Please see Section A of Definitions for further details.
  8. Includes UK domicile region unknown.
  9. Includes non-UK domicile region unknown.
  10. 'Other' modes of study are not separately tabulated but are included in totals.
  11. Initial or pre-service teacher training course leading to qualified teacher status or to registration as a school teacher with the General Teaching Council for Scotland.
  12. Includes GNVQ/GSVQ level 3 or NVQ/SVQ level 3 qualification.
  13. Explicit refusals are not included in total of known destination.
  14. Unknown ages are not separately tabulated but are included in totals.
  15. Students of unknown location of employment are included in total figures, but not in separate breakdowns.
  16. Standard Occupational Classification is now based upon SOC(DLHE).
  17. Includes the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man and UK domicile region unknown.
  18. Includes the Student Awards Agency for Scotland and the Department for Employment and Learning Northern Ireland.
  19. Figures relating to part-time overseas domiciled students may include students studying largely overseas by distance learning who also visit the United Kingdom for part of their programme of study.

Copyright © Higher Education Statistics Agency Limited 2006